Chelsea recorded back-to-back victories for the first time since October by beating Borussia Dortmund on Tuesday night.
Facing a 1-0 deficit from the first leg, the Blues returned to form at the weekend by beating Leeds by the same scoreline before goals from Raheem Sterling and Kai Havertz turned their last 16 Champions League tie with BVB around.
The result eases a smidge of pressure from the shoulders of Chelsea manager Graham Potter, though his opposite number Edin Terzic and England international Jude Bellingham were less than satisfied with the officiating, especially surrounding the match-winning penalty.
The penalty award and Havertz hits the post
The referee in charge on Tuesday night was Danny Makkelie.
The 40-year-old Dutchman is closing in on 300 matches officiated in the Eredivisie and is a regular in the Champions League, having made his debut in 2014.
A cross from Ben Chilwell hit the arm of Marius Wolf from close range, with Makkelie consulting the pitchside monitor before pointing to the spot.
After some protestations from the visitors, Havertz eventually took the penalty but saw the effort clatter off the post and away to safety.
Why was Chelsea’s penalty retaken?
Once that penalty hit the post, Blues fans around the world got that sinking feeling.
However, more checks took place from the officials and it was determined Dortmund midfielder Salih Ozcan had encroached into the ‘D’ outside the penalty box before Havertz had made contact with the ball.
Makkelie was alerted to the infringement and ordered the kick to be retaken, drawing more ire from the visiting Dortmund players.
Dortmund midfielder Bellingham disagreed with the decision but admitted he didn’t want to ‘get in trouble’ with any post-match quotes on the penalty decision.
“For every penalty, especially when you have such a slow run-up, there’s going to be people encroaching into the box by a yard or so.
The former Liverpool utility man took issue with referee Makkelie’s attitude throughout the game, stating: “The referee.
How can you give the second penalty in the situation?
How does it work?
That simply does not work!
“I’m responsible for the performance of my team, I don’t want to talk about the referee.
“I think it was a tight call and a harsh decision.”
Makkelie made friends in his prior Champions League game when he chalked off a last-minute Harry Kane winner against Sporting CP before sending off manager Antonio Conte.